New Orleans Intern: Jillian Mazure

Posted on September 5, 2014. Filed under: Career, Featured Intern, Internship, Michigan State University, New Orleans | Tags: , , , , , , |

Jillian Mazure, Interdisciplinary Studies in Social Science major, learned about southern hospitality and the diverse culture of New Orleans during her summer 2014 internship at Kedila (one of our favorite internship sites!)

Jillian Mazure portrait

Name: Jillian Mazure

Hometown: Burlington, Massachusetts

Major: IDS Community Governance and Advocacy

Graduation: May 2015

Internship Placement: Kedila Family Learning Services Teen Summer Camp

Internship Location: New Orleans

What were your primary responsibilities at your internship?

My primary responsibilities at my internship included making a newsletter every week to show what activities we provide for our campers. I was responsible for putting together orientation packets for the parents. Whenever we had disputes between campers or needed to discipline them, I helped make sure it was the appropriate punishment. I helped make sure campers were going to the right classrooms, signing in and out correctly and making sure they treated each other and the staff with respect.

What were some main projects you had worked on?

The weekly newsletter was my main project, but I was given the opportunity to learn how grants were written and proposed. I helped organize the 3rd of July BBQ by setting up games and activities for the campers to participate in. I also had to make sure that all our forms for the students were filled out correctly and organized. I ordered material in bulk for the teachers and arts and crafts activities.

What is one of the highlights of your internship?

A highlight of my internship was meeting all of my wonderful co-workers. They were so welcoming and made me feel at home, even when we were at work! Another highlight was our field trip to the Global Wildlife Center, and feeding the llamas, bison, and zebras.

Why should an MSU student apply to this internship program?

This internship program gave me the opportunity to experience a different culture in the United States. New Orleans is the definition of melting pot; you have the French Creole atmosphere everywhere, but can go down the block and try some of the best Thai food in the world. There are festivals every weekend and students will always have the opportunity to do something different every day. The people are some of the nicest, most welcoming people in the world; there is a reason we call it “Southern Hospitality.” I actually felt like I made a difference in the community and the community also had an impact on me. This internship changed the way I look at the rest of the United States and opened my eyes to all the opportunity around me.

If you are interested in an internship experience in New Orleans (one of the least expensive programs!) please visit http://socialscience.msu.edu or email Study.Away@ssc.msu.edu for more information.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “New Orleans Intern: Jillian Mazure”

RSS Feed for Michigan State University Study Away Programs Comments RSS Feed

Hi! I am doing this same internship in summer 2015. I am not sure where I will be placed yet but when I was interviewed they had mentioned working at a children’s summer camp, which sounds like a lot of fun! I have a few questions that I feel that someone who has already done this program could answer the best. I was wondering what the living situation was like? Do you live in an apartment style dorm, or off campus? Also, was the program you went through (the summer camp) paid or volunteer work? Lastly, how much free time would you say we have to go off on our own and tour the city? Thank you so much!

Hi Stephanie,

I’m sure that Jillian would be happy to talk to you about her experience, including housing. Please email Vicki.Shaver@ssc.msu.edu to request Jillian’s contact information.

Thanks!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

