New Orleans Featured Intern: Ashley Brown

Posted on September 24, 2013. Filed under: Career, College, Internship, Michigan State University | Tags: , , , , |

Ashley NOLA

In this installment of featured interns you hear from Ashley Brown, who interned last summer in New Orleans. 

Name: Ashley Brown
Major: Political Science, Pre- Law
Graduation Date: Spring 2014
Internship Placement: Apex Youth Center and Court Watch NOLA
Internship Location: New Orleans, LA 

What were your primary responsibilities at your internship?

Well I had two internships one with Courtwatch NOLA, and the other with Apex Youth Center. For the Court-watch internship my basic duties were to report to court at least twice a week and to follow and take record of whatever cases were assigned to me for that date. The youth center internship basically involved watching over children ages 11-16 and helping out with homework, social skills, and anything else that they may have needed.

What was your favorite thing about working / living in New Orleans?

My favorite thing about working and being in New Orleans was being able to explore the city and not really knowing what I would find. It was really nice being somewhere different for a change.

How has your internship experience impacted your academic and/or career plans?

The experience was wonderful and I learned a lot about my field, thanks to the court- watch experience. Now I know for sure that it is criminal law that I would like to practice, and am looking forward to the pursuit once I graduate and get into a graduate school.

Tell us one amazing or surprising highlight of your internship.  Are there any “AHA” moments?

The real highlight of my experience was getting through to some of the children that I was working with. I have to admit I wasn’t sure at first about taking on the Apex internship because I’m not a huge fan of children. But working with them so closely and getting to know them so well they helped me just as much as I was able to help all of them. I was even tearful when it came time for me to leave and to my surprise so were a few of them.

If you are interested in a community-based internship experience in New Orleans you can find information on this website and watch a presentation, too.  If you still have questions, please contact us to schedule an appointment.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “New Orleans Featured Intern: Ashley Brown”

RSS Feed for Michigan State University Study Away Programs Comments RSS Feed

Who do I contact about the apex youth internship

Hello Chelsea, Please contact our office with a list of times that you are available this week. Call 517-432+-4541 or email Study.Away@ssc.msu.edu. We will set up a meeting with a program coordinator to answer your questions.

Nice Internship blog, I have bookmarked your blog yet and I will come back again! You have a greatest blog!

Online Internships For College Students


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

