Washington, DC Featured Intern: Meet Steve Ciranna

Posted on July 25, 2013. Filed under: Career, College, Featured Intern, Internship, Life, Michigan State University, Professionalism | Tags: , , , , , |

photoWelcome to a new series of blog posts highlighting Michigan State University students participating in College of Social Science Study Away Programs.  Stephen Ciranna is the first student being featured. He is part of one of the most popular programs offered at MSU, the Washington, DC Summer Internship Program.  Meet Steve Ciranna!

*****

Name: Stephen R. Ciranna

Major: Economics specializing in Political Economy 

Graduation Date: May 2014

Internship Placement: Congressmen Bill Huizenga’s office

Internship Location: Washington D.C. 

How did you learn about MSU’s Study and Internship programs and why did you choose to apply?

 I wanted to intern in DC ever since my sophomore year of college and stumbled upon the program while exploring the Social Science website.  I quickly realized that this program was the best way for me to achieve my goal of interning in DC.

 What are your primary responsibilities at your internship?

 My main roles are to work directly with the Congressmen’s constituents, whether I’m working on phone calls, writing letters or leading Capitol Hill tours.  I research current and future policy and write memos on committee meetings, briefings and other events occurring on Capitol Hill.  I also, conduct any task that the office needs me to do which can vary a lot which keeps me on my toes each day!

 What’s your favorite thing about working / living in Washington, DC? 

 I love how the work being done all around this city is so important for the entire world and is directly impacting American citizen’s lives.  I like to believe the work that I am doing has a small, but positive impact for Americans as well.

 How has your internship experience impacted your academic and/or career plans?

This internship has helped me see the real impacts of the economic policies that I have studied intensively in East Lansing, helping me to deepen my knowledge in the subject I enjoy so much.  Also, through networking, I have learned countless new career possibilities that I can pursue here in DC that would go along with my studies, interests, and career goals.

 Tell us one amazing or surprising highlight of your internship.  Are there any “AHA” moments?

 Every day I experience a surprising “AHA” moment on Capitol Hill here in DC.   Whether, it is encountering Congressmen Huizenga’s interactions with other members or constituents, something new I learn through intensive research, discussions with knowledgeable and experienced staffers, or just running around the Capitol doing a task for the office.  The most surprising highlight however, is the fact that everyone here in Washington wants you to learn and grow and that is what allows you to experience these “AHA” moments that I will remember for the rest of my life.

*****

Are YOU interested in a Capitol Hill internship?  Representative Huizenga’s Office has opportunities available each semester.  Visit his website for details: http://huizenga.house.gov/constituentservices/internships.htm. If you are pursuing a career in policy or law, a Capitol Hill internship is a major asset to your resume.

Be sure to explore https://msustudyprograms.wordpress.com to learn about study and internship opportunities in Washington, DC, as well as in our other off campus locations.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

